Does it Make Sense to Remodel My House Before Selling?

Did you know that the average cost to renovate a home in the United States is $46,748?

While the house-flipping industry can be incredibly profitable at times, making massive home improvements before selling your home is a massive undertaking. This does not just cost money but can also take up much of your time and add stress to your daily life.

This is why it’s so important to do the math to see if you can get a decent return on your investment before investing anything in the home.

Should I remodel my home before selling it? You’ve found the right article. Here’s everything you need to know about home improvement before selling your home.

Factors To Consider Before Deciding

Since your home is an asset, renovations should always be considered an investment. This is because renovations and upgrades can have a positive impact on the value of your home. However, the question is if the impact is worth the time, money, and effort that goes into remodeling your home in the first place.

Before you decide on investing in your home, it’s important to consider a few important factors. These factors range from personal finances to the general property market. To help you make your decision, here’s a quick look at these factors.

Housing Market Conditions

The housing market is the single most important factor to keep in mind. This is because the market value of your home is heavily dependent on comparable sales in the area. If you know the market value of your home, you can also look at the estimated market value of your home after the renovations are complete.

This is a great indicator to see if the renovations are worth the investment in the first place. However, this will also let you know if there is a demand for the upgrades that you’re proposing.

Buyer Needs

When looking at the current market conditions, it’s important to look closely at what buyers are looking for. This will let you know if your home has what they’re looking for or if you can benefit from upgrading your home to meet the needs of the market. Since you will be renovating your home for potential buyers, this can help you find out what they want in a home.

Your Financial Situation

Renovating your home before selling it costs money. In most cases, these renovations will have to be in cash. This is why it’s important to see what upgrades can give you the best return, but also consider your current financial situation to see if you can afford it.

Investing in your home is still risky, so you should keep that in mind when spending money on these renovations. While you can command a higher price, there is no guarantee that you will actually get it after everything is complete.

How Fast You Want to Sell

Renovations take time to complete. While this is dependent on the kinds of renovations you want to do around the house, the truth is that valuable renovations tend to take a lot longer. You will have to wait longer before listing your home on the property market.

This adds to the risk of renovating your home as the property market could shift by the time you list your home on the market. In this way, there is no guarantee that the market value of your home today will be the same as the market value of your home after you’re done.

Selling your home as-is can be done in the blink of an eye. This means renovating your home before selling will add time to the entire process. If you’re waiting to move to another city, this may delay your entire move.

In some cases, waiting can cost you more money than you can make after the renovations are complete.

The Best Home Improvements Before Selling for the Highest Return

As mentioned above, investing in the right places to maximize your return is important. This is why you should take your time to see the current housing market demands. However, a few safe bets are worth considering when upgrading your home for a profit.

1. Replace Windows

If you’re looking for an affordable way to improve the look of your home, consider replacing your windows. This cost-effective option can go a long way to improving your home’s curb appeal. You can see a decent return when you sell your home by investing in new windows and a new front door.

2. Solar Panels

Investing in solar panels is a great way to improve the value of your home. Solar panels have decreased in price over the last decade, making them a great investment. Homes with solar panels benefit from lower maintenance costs, allowing you to claim a higher price for the home when you put it on the market.

3. The Kitchen

The kitchen is the heart of the home and is often the most important room to consider remodeling. Every investment in the kitchen, from built-in appliances to premium countertops, can help you command a higher price for your home. Since the appliances are comparable, it’s easy to secure a decent return on your investment.

How To Calculate If It’s Worth Repairing

Investing in your home for the sole purpose of selling it for a higher price is a risk. This is the business model for house flippers trying to bring an older home to life for a profit. While the house-flipping industry proves that it can be done, the question is if it’s worth it for you to do.

The simplest way to find out if it’s worth it is to estimate the return you can get from your investment. This starts by calculating how much it would cost to do the renovations you want. These prices will increase depending on how much work you want to be done around your home.

If you want to replace the flooring, it will cost you less than if you were to extend the house to add a few more bedrooms. However, adding bedrooms may impact your home’s value more than modern flooring. This is where you need to do your research and see what investments are best to prioritize.

Once you finalize what renovations you want, you need to estimate how much these upgrades will cost you. You can approach a construction company or contractor for an accurate quotation. After you have this quotation, you can compare it to how much you estimate your home can sell after the upgrades are completed.

For example, if your home is currently valued at $300,000 but would be valued at $400,000 after the renovations, you will be able to calculate that the renovations add $100,000 to your home’s value. If your renovation costs are more than $100,000, then it’s clear that they are not worth it.

Should I Remodel Before Selling?

While this may sound like a simple question, the answer depends entirely on your situation. If you’re thinking of renovating the home you currently live in, you will have to suffer through weeks of renovations. This can be incredibly frustrating for everyone at home.

As mentioned above, the entire renovation process is costly. However, renovating your home costs you more than just money, as it’s often time-consuming. In this way, selling your home as-is can save you time and take the stress off your shoulders.

When remodeling your home, it’s true that you may increase your home’s appraisal value. However, the market value fluctuates, and there’s no guarantee that you’ll get more money for your home later on. In this case, it may be better to sell your home as-is at the current market rates.

Consider Selling Your Home As-Is

If you’re thinking about investing in a few home improvements before selling, it’s important to take your time to consider if it’s worth it. This is because you may not always be able to get a decent return on your investment when you eventually list your home on the market.

In addition, there are easy ways to sell your home as-is to save yourself the headache. Platforms like iBuyer.com make it incredibly easy to sell your home as they can give you an accurate valuation of your home directly from their site.

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    What Happens to Your Mortgage When You Sell Your Home?

    If you’re a homeowner, the idea of selling your home is both exciting and scary. You know how much time and energy went into buying your first home. You’ve likely lived in it for years and grown attached to it.

    But as you know a house is more than that. It’s a financial asset. So you may wonder what happens to your mortgage when you sell your house 

    This guide will help you understand what happens when you sell a house with a mortgage. This way , you can make an informed decision about whether this is the right time for you.

    Let’s dive in. 

    What Happens To Your Mortgage When You Sell Your House?

    The biggest point to remember when considering what happens to your mortgage when you sell your house is that the debt doesn’t disappear when you sell the home. You’ll still owe the money, even if you’re planning on using the proceeds from the sale of your home to pay off the mortgage.

    The biggest point to remember is that the debt remains when you sell the home. You’ll still owe the money, even if you’re planning on using the proceeds from the sale of your home to pay off the mortgage.

    If you sell your existing property and buy a new one with its sales proceeds, it will be the same as if you had used cash or a line of credit instead: The debt doesn’t go away.

    Instead, it’s transferred over so that it’s attached to your new property; this is called refinancing or re-mortgaging. If all goes well (and there aren’t complications), this can result in lower monthly payments on both properties. This is because there’s more equity in each one now thanks to appreciation over time, and interest rate decreases during shorter periods since initial mortgages were taken out but beware!

    Mortgages in the Era of Inflation in 2022

    In the years following 2022, inflation will likely wreak havoc on the economy and financial institutions.

    The dollar value is likely to drop, so paying off your mortgage as soon as possible is advisable if you want to avoid accumulating more debt.

    If you’re a homeowner and haven’t paid off your mortgage yet, now is the time to do so. You can save a lot of money by using your savings or taking out an equity loan instead of paying interest on a mortgage.

    See Your House With a Mortgage

    Think about it this way: two mortgages are happening here. The mortgage on your current home is paid off by selling it and using the proceeds to pay down a new mortgage on your next home.

    The mortgage on your current home is paid off by selling it and using the proceeds to pay down a new mortgage on your next home. The old mortgage will still be there, but you’ll have paid down that debt with the money from selling your old home.

    You can also consider taking out a cash-out refinance to have some extra cash in hand after closing. This way, if you need a big repair or other unexpected expense before moving into your new house (or even during), it won’t be a problem because you have cash reserves available!

    Contact Your Lender

    Try contacting your lender directly. They may have further information about the status of the loan.

    Remember they can help you get things sorted out. If they don’t give you the information, you need be persistent. 

    What is Equity? 

    Equity is a financial term that describes the difference between the value of something (like a house or a car) and what it costs to buy. Your equity in your home is the difference between how much you owe on your mortgage and how much your home would sell for.

    If you can’t make your regular mortgage payments, you may be able to give up part of your home equity by refinancing or taking out a home equity loan. Generally speaking, owning equity in a home provides some protection from financial hardship.

    Can You Sell a Home With Negative Equity?

    You can sell a home with negative equity, but you might have to do a little more work. More so than an owner whose home is valued at more than what’s owed on it.

    If a bank forecloses on your home and the total debt (mortgage, taxes, and other fees) exceeds the value of your home, you’ll have negative equity. If you’re underwater, putting your house up for sale will be an uphill battle because fewer buyers are interested in homes they can’t afford.

    What if You Don’t Have Enough Equity?

    Many banks are hesitant to lend money to homeowners who don’t have positive equity and will likely never be able to repay a new mortgage.

    Homeowners who don’t qualify for a mortgage because they do not have enough money to put down on the home are considered “cash-strapped.” This might be the case if you were in financial hardship, inherited the house and have no equity, or had your home foreclosed in the past.

    What Happens To Equity When You Sell Your Home?

    When you sell your home, there are two categories of equity. These are seller’s equity and buyer’s equity.

    Seller’s equity is the money the seller keeps from the sale, while buyer’s equity is how much the buyer owes on the property after closing.

    You have two options. First, take the money you get from the equity of your old home and invest it in a new product. For example, if you have already paid off 80% of your mortgage, you’ll get 80% back. You then take out a new mortgage when you purchase a new home. 

    Alternatively, you can have the equity from your old home roll over into your new mortgage. If you’re downsizing, you could have a smaller mortgage on your new home that you’ll pay off quicker. 

    How Much is Left On Your Mortgage?

    A basic rule of thumb is that you want to try to sell your home when you have at least 20% equity in your home. That means you’ve built up at least 20% of its value through paying down your mortgage and/or through market appreciation.

    So there is 80% left on your mortgage. When selling a home with little or no equity, there are some options for the seller, but your choices are much more limited. 

    Understanding How Deficiency Works

    If there’s any remaining balance owed after the sale, it’s called a “deficiency.” This might happen if you owe more than your home is worth after repairs, and other costs are deducted from the sale price.

    The IRS says that if you don’t pay off your mortgage before selling, you’ll be taxed on any remaining balance. 

    If your lender forgives part or all of what is owed (called “canceling” or “forgiving” the mortgage), then this may be considered taxable income. For example, if you have $100,000 left on your 30-year fixed-rate $200,000 mortgage when it gets foreclosed, and your bank cancels half of it, you owe only $100K.

    Then they will send you a 1099-C form indicating how much they canceled ($50K).

    That amount would be reported as income on Line 21 Other Income section on Form 1040 (or Form 1040A), where anyone can see how much profit comes from cashing in their house!

    Sell Your House With a Mortgage

    The traditional way to sell your home is to list it with an agent, and wait for a buyer to come forward. But there’s a faster and easier way to sell your home with a mortgage. When you take out a new mortgage loan and use your home as collateral, you have just given yourself more flexibility.

    An alternative option to selling your house with a mortgage is to rent it out until the next owner moves in the only risk here is that you might need more money back on rent.

    Find the Estimated Value Of Your Home

    When selling your home, there is no better way to find its estimated value than with a home inspection. A professional home inspection is a high-quality, detailed inspection by a local member of the real estate industry who will meticulously evaluate every aspect of the house and property.

    This will give you the knowledge needed to determine if your house is worth more or if it needs some extra work done.

    Find the Selling Solution That Fits Your Needs

    If you’re looking for a solution to selling your home, consider iBuyer.com. We can help you sell your house fast.

    Their process is done entirely online. This can be a lot more efficient than hiring a real estate agent. You’d also be surprised at the prices on offer as they are competitive. Closing costs are also minimal compared to traditional real estate agents.

    Pay Off The Mortgage 

    If you’re wondering what happens to your mortgage when you sell your home, the best solution is to pay off the mortgage before you sell your home. 

    If you already have 80% equity in your home, it can be worth trying to find a way to raise funds to pay down the last 20%. To do this, consider taking a second job for a short period of time or tightening your monthly expenses to make bigger mortgage payments to get over that line. 

    Conclusion

    Hopefully, now you know what happens to your mortgage when you sell your house, you feel more prepared to go through the selling process.

    If you’re looking for more information on how selling your home works and what steps need to happen before you can move on with life after moving out of your current house, we can help. Start by finding out how much your house is worth and getting a no-obligation offer.

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      Should I Buy New Appliances Before Selling My House?

      Over six million people sell their homes yearly in the United States, so if you put your property on the market, you’re in good company. This can be an exciting but also stressful time. After all, you want to sell your home for a price that reflects its actual value.

      However, this depends a lot on your home’s condition. A lot of sellers choose to update their homes to increase their value, and there are plenty of ways to do this.

      You’re in the right place if you’ve been wondering if you should buy new appliances before selling your house. Read on to find out whether or not you should invest in new household appliances before selling your house.

      Do New Appliances Add Value to a Home?

      The median home sale price in the US is currently $428,700, but there is no guarantee you will get this much for your property. A lot can affect the sale price of a property, including: 

      • The housing market 
      • Its age and location 
      • The condition that a property is in 

      Of course, you cannot change the property market or your home’s age and location. However, you can make home improvements to add value to your property. People in America spend more than $6,000 yearly on these improvements to keep their homes up to date. 

      Of course, not everyone will be able to afford to remodel their home before selling it. This is why a lot of people focus on smaller jobs, such as updating their appliances. So is it worth it, and do new appliances add value to a home? 

      Well, the short answer is yes! If you buy new appliances, this could increase your home’s value by up to 7%.

      This is because new appliances will last longer and are more energy-efficient. As a result, your buyers are less likely to pay for repairs or replacements after buying your home. These appliances are also cheaper to run, so save your buyers money in the long run.

      Can You Afford to Buy New Appliances? 

      You also need to think about your budget. New appliances can be very expensive. 

      To help you make a decision, here are the price ranges of common household appliances: 

      • New dishwashers cost between $400 and $700
      • New ovens cost between $650 and $2,000 
      • New refrigerators cost between $900 and $8,000
      • New clothes driers cost between $400 and $1,000 
      • New washing machines cost between $700 and $1,000
      • Remodeling your bathroom fixtures can cost between $2,500 and $30,000

      So you could spend up to $13,000 replacing your kitchen appliances alone. If you do have the budget for this it is also worth considering how much value new appliances will add to your home.

      For example, if your home is worth $250,000, these appliances could increase its value by $17,000. If you spend $13,000, you’ll make an extra $4,500. 

      Wondering what your home’s worth in the current market?
      Get a free online home valuation!

      You could increase your profit margins by buying slightly cheaper appliances. So it is worth shopping around for deals or only replacing a few of your appliances to increase your home’s value.

      Is Stainless Steel Worth It?

      If you are going to replace your appliances, it is worth thinking about the type of appliances you choose. So do high-end appliances increase home value?

      Stainless steel appliances tend to be a lot more expensive than other appliances. They also require more cleaning. However, they last longer, making them an appealing investment for potential buyers. 

      Whether or not you buy stainless steel depends a lot on your budget. If you want to reduce your spending, then it is a good idea to avoid stainless steel appliances. If you have a bigger budget then these can seriously boost the value of your home.

      Of course, you could opt for one or two stainless steel appliances to save money. For example, you could buy a stainless steel oven and a cheaper refrigerator or dishwasher.

      However, it is also worth asking how important matching appliances are when selling a house. A mismatched aesthetic could make your kitchen look less impressive than it is. In that case, you could match the refrigerator and dishwasher doors to the rest of your kitchen cupboards for a more coordinated look.

      It is also worth considering the aesthetics of your home before buying stainless steel appliances. Stainless steel can look amazing in a sleek, modern home. However, if your home has a more rustic feel, it can look very out of place.

      Should I Buy New Appliances to Sell My House?

      You should also look at your home’s value to budget for new appliances. This will help you decide whether or not it is worth investing in them. 

      For example, if your home is worth $150,000, new appliances could only add up to $10,500 value. In that case, you don’t want to spend $13,000 on them! 

      To calculate your home’s value, you need to look at: 

      • Its age and location 
      • Its size, usable living space, and storage 
      • Its condition 
      • How up-to-date the rest of your property is 
      • Its walkability score 

      The property market and when you choose to sell can also have a big impact on your sale price.

      You can use a number of online tools to calculate the value of your home. Or you could organize a valuation with a local realtor to find out how much they think your home is worth.

      Start With the Appliances That Are Not Working 

      If you are working with a tighter budget, then you should focus on replacing the appliances that need the most work.

      Broken or outdated appliances can actually reduce the value of your home. This is because potential buyers will need to replace these when moving in.

      Take a look at all of your key appliances and:

      • Their service history 
      • When they were installed 
      • How energy-efficient they are 
      • Whether or not they need repairing 

      Broken, old, or inefficient appliances should always be the first to go.

      Will Replacing My Appliances Cause Other Problems? 

      You don’t just need to think about the cost of these appliances. You also need to think about other potential issues installing them could cause. 

      As well as buying new appliances, you will need to: 

      • Pay for their installation and delivery 
      • Ensure they match the aesthetic of your home 
      • Dispose of your old appliances 
      • Clean up and potentially redecorate your kitchen or bathroom after they have been installed
      • Make sure your plumbing and wiring fit your new appliances

      Getting new appliances fitted requires a lot of time and money. So it is never quite as simple as popping a new appliance into the space of the old one!

      Consider Your Market Conditions 

      It is always worth considering the market you are selling in before buying new home appliances. This will dictate how easy or difficult it is to sell your property. 

      For example, if homes are in high demand, then you will get more interest from potential buyers. This usually means that it is easier to find a buyer who will meet your asking price. Buyers may enter into a bidding war for your property, even if it needs work.

      Alternatively, you may notice that property prices are falling in general. This may mean that the value of your home drops overall. 

      In a tough market, minor renovations may not make a huge difference to the value of your home. In that case, it may be easier to sell your home as-is.

      Sell As-Is With an iBuyer 

      There’s a high chance you still need to consider all of your selling options. While new appliances can impress residential buyers, you can save time and money by selling to an iBuyer. 

      iBuyers (or instant buyers) tend to be property investors who are happy to buy homes “as-is”. They offer market value, all-cash offers on properties no matter their fittings and fixtures. You do not have to spend thousands of dollars renovating your home.

      To sell with iBuyer.com, all you need to do is enter your property details into a secure online portal. Then you can upload photos of your property. 

      Cash Offers From
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        • No Showings

        • No Repairs

        • No Headaches

        If a buyer is interested, they will make a quick, all-cash offer. After this, they’ll arrange an inspection to make sure that the property is in the condition advertised.

        Once they’re happy, you can accept their offer and sell your home in a matter of days!

        Conclusion

        Should I buy new appliances before selling a house? 

        This depends on your budget and how you want to sell it. 

        New appliances can add value, especially if you are selling to residential buyers. However, you need to ensure that the value they add will be more than the amount you spend on the appliances and their installation. So think about this carefully before you start shopping!

        If you want to sell your home without the hassle of investing in new appliances then you should definitely consider using an iBuyer. Upload your property details and get a cash offer from an iBuyer today to find out how much your home is worth!

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        9 Tips on How to Sell a House Fast in a Slow Market

        Inflation increased by 0.4 percent in September 2022. It is not hard to see why the market for buying a home may have slowed down. Inflation means less money to spend and it also means that people are trying to conserve. You may be wondering how to sell a house fast in a slow market.

        It can be very frustrating for someone who wants to sell their home quickly. Here is how to sell your house in a slow market.

        1. Know Your Home Value

        One of the first things you will need to identify is the value of your home. Understanding exactly how much your home is currently worth is critical to determine what price you should sell it for. 

        Wondering what your home’s worth in the current market?
        Get a free online home valuation!

        Get someone to survey your property and do a valuation for you. Do not just guess at the value of the home, if you do, you might end up selling yourself short. Get professional help.

        2. Do the Necessary Repairs

        You will also want to make sure that you do the necessary repairs to your home before putting it on the market. There’s no sense in trying to hide or get around flaws. They will come out once you put the home on the market. 

        When you do repairs ahead of putting your home on the market you give yourself a chance to get the best possible price for it.

        Remember, your buyers are likely to do a home inspection. During this time all the flaws in the home will be identified, so if you can fix some of them then go ahead and do so.

        3. High ROI Improvements

        There are some improvements to your home that yield a high return on your investment. For example, if you are thinking about renovating your kitchen then you will increase your home’s value by doing this. 

        The basement is also a good area to invest in when it comes to repairs. If your home does not have a deck you can add one and this will help to increase the square footage of the property.

        4. Improve Curb Appeal

        Improving curb appeal is vital for selling your home. Although we have often been told not to judge a book by the cover, when it comes to selling a home, first impressions do matter. 

        When people approach your property for a viewing you want to make sure that they are impressed. You can add to the curb appeal of your home by taking care of your lawn, doing landscaping work, and painting the home in an attractive color.

        Even if you have to spend some money to get your home looking its best from the outside, it is well worth it, because the money will return to you, when you get your home sold quickly.

        5. Consider Home Staging

        Home staging is also something you should consider. Staging your home is an effective tactic for getting buyers interested. When you stage a home you create an ideal picture of the home by using furniture, artwork, and smells to make potential buyers feel as if they are at home when they enter the house.

        There are professional home stagers available, but you can also do your research and learn how to stage your home yourself. Whenever you’re staging a home you will normally need to remove any kind of personal belongings. 

        If necessary you can bring in rental furnishings and artwork to make the home look a particular way. This is often very effective in pulling in a buyer and getting them to commit to a purchase.

        Professional Photography

        You must use professional photography when listing your home. Once you have staged the home, you should take high-quality pictures of each room to place on listing sites. 

        If you cannot take these pictures yourself, you should hire a professional photographer to do it for you. It will be well worth it.

        6. Good Marketing

        Once you’ve decided to sell your home, Marketing the property should be a priority. This means that you need to advertise on every listing site available. 

        Use social media to your advantage as well. The more places you can get eyeballs on your property the higher the likelihood that it will sell very quickly.

        You can put a for sale sign in front of the home with contact information. Consider using flyers as well to place on community center notice boards or wherever you will be allowed to place flyers. Try to use digital and traditional advertising formats together.

        Embrace Unique Marketing 

        Try to find as many unique marketing strategies as you can to sell your property. You can use short-form video content to showcase the beauty of the property. 

        You can post these on Pinterest, Instagram, and YouTube. You can also add that in the video to listings wherever it is allowed.

        7. Buyer Incentives

        If you’re having trouble selling your home then you will need to give your buyers an incentive to buy. One way you can do this is by reducing your asking price. 

        This is one of the best ways to get a house sold fast. If you have a high asking price or even an average one, calculate how much you can reasonably reduce it to without it affecting your profit margin.

        Give cash back offers whenever you can. Sometimes buyers hold off on buying a home because they see that something will need a lot of repairs. Once you find out what their fears are, you can offer them some cash back so that they have enough to do a replacement or repair.

        8. Pick Your Selling Method Based On Your Needs

        The selling method that you choose for your home should be based on your need at any given time. Some methods of selling a home are more expensive than others. Take a closer look at the three methods you should consider.

        FSBO

        For sale by owner(FSBO) is a legitimate way in which you can sell your home. Many people prefer to hire a real estate agent to help them sell their homes. However, you don’t necessarily need one to do so. 

        You can put the house up for sale all on your own. However, you’ll have to deal with a lot of paperwork. If this doesn’t bother you, then you should go ahead and list your house for sale and handle the transaction all by yourself.

        Real Estate Agent

        The most popular way to sell a home is by hiring a real estate agent. There are many perks to using this option instead of for sale by the owner. 

        A real estate agent is a professional who is well-versed in what it takes to sell a house quickly. They have connections that make it easy for them to sell properties. They can help you with showcasing your property in the best way to get it sold quickly. 

        A real estate agent will be able to help you with everything you need to do when selling your house. From listing it to closing, they will be there with you. 

        However, it does come at a cost. If you don’t mind having to pay someone to assist you then a real estate agent is a good option for you.

        iBuyers

        iBuyers belong to companies that use technology to determine the value of your home. They will then make you a cash offer for the home. If you decide to go with their offer they will purchase the home from you. 

        They will then market the home and resell it for a profit. The good thing about going with iBuyers is that you will get a quick cash offer and will most certainly be able to move out very quickly if that is what you want.

        9. Be Realistic about Negotiations

        You need to learn how to sell your house fast in a slow market through realistic negotiations.

        Buyers will want to negotiate and when they come to the negotiation table they are doing so because they want a discount. When you put the home on the market and price it, you should factor in the negotiation. This is important because you will need to lower your asking price.

        How to Sell Your House in a Slow Market

        You now know exactly how to sell your house in a slow market. There is a lot to consider and you need to make sure that you take the time to decide exactly which method you want to use to sell a home.

        The key thing you must bear in mind is that you need to make your property as attractive as possible to potential buyers. If this means that you have to improve your home or even do maintenance work on it, then go ahead and do so.

        Cash Offers on your home?
        You’re in the right place!

        The post 9 Tips on How to Sell a House Fast in a Slow Market appeared first on iBuyer Blog.

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        How and Why to Calculate Your Home Equity

        The average home equity in the US is currently around $300,000.

        Equity comes in various forms, and it can prove incredibly useful. If you know how to calculate home equity or how to calculate common equity, you can use this to put yourself in a better position financially.

        With these, you can pay off high-interest loans, make large purchases, invest in home upgrades, and more. Before you can do any of these, however, you need to know what your equity is.

        For a rundown of how to calculate equity value and what factors can affect it, keep reading.

        Your Home Equity Is Based on Your Homes Value

        Home equity varies from owner to owner because it depends on a couple of factors. The first of these is the value of your home, and the other is how much you have left to pay on your mortgage. So when you’ve got both of these, how do you calculate home equity?

        How to Calculate Home Equity

        Home equity is fairly easy to figure out. You just need to determine the amount you owe on your mortgage (and any other loans) for your house and subtract this from the overall value of your home.

        If you owe more than the appraised value of your home, you won’t have any equity. This is known as an “underwater mortgage”. If you owe $300,000, for example, and your home has a value of $500,000, then your home equity would be $200,000.

        What Is My House Worth Now?

        The first step to calculating equity in your home is determining the value of the property. You’ll also want to know this if you’re considering selling your home. There are various ways to get an estimate of your home value, but mortgage lenders will want to know the professionally appraised value before giving out any loans.

        To simply get an idea of how much your home is worth, you can use an online estimator. There are plenty of these available, and they use algorithms alongside other information to provide fair home market value estimates.

        Wondering what your home’s worth in the current market?
        Get a free online home valuation!

        Bear in mind, however, that an online estimate isn’t the same as an appraised value. For an accurate home equity level, you’ll need to get a professional to appraise your home. Once you have an appraised value, you can use it alongside your loans to calculate your home equity.

        Consider Your Loan to Value Ratio

        After you’ve determined your home equity, you need to figure out whether it’s actually sensible to borrow from it. You can get a better idea of this by using your LTV (loan to value) ratio.

        This is a percentage found by dividing your mortgage value by your appraised home value. For the example mentioned above, this would be:

        $300,000/$500,000 = 0.6 (60%)

        The higher an LTV is, the more risk it represents for the lender. CLTV (combined LTV) includes your mortgage as well as any other home loans you have, including the one you’re currently applying for. Most lenders generally have a CLTV limit of 85%, and won’t consider anything over this.

        Types of Home Equity Loans

        The amount you can borrow will depend on your home equity, your CLTV, and the lender you’re requesting a loan from. Most lenders will offer loans up to a maximum of 75%-90% of your total home equity. There are also two different types of loans that lenders will offer.

        Home Equity Loan

        This works in the same way as most standard loans. You’ll be able to borrow an amount, and the lender will give you this as a lump sum. You’re then expected to repay it in regular installments with interest.

        This type of loan is ideal if you want to know how much you’ll need to pay back each month or if you don’t know the exact amount you need to borrow in the first place.

        HELOCs

        A HELOC (home equity line of credit) has a draw period (typically up to 10 years), and you can borrow multiple times during this period. There will be a set limit on how much you can borrow at a time, and once you’ve paid it off you can borrow again. You’re able to do this as many times as you like throughout the draw period.

        With HELOCs, the interest rate isn’t fixed, so you need to keep track of it so that you can work out how much you need to pay back. At the end of the draw period, you can then pay the principal back over a certain period. This period is usually up to 20 years.

        Cancel Your Private Mortgage Insurance

        Something you can do to make the most of your home equity is canceling your PMI (private mortgage insurance). This is something that your mortgage lender might charge each month on top of your mortgage. It’s typically applied when someone pays less than 20% of the value of their home in their down payment. 

        PMI is required as long as your LTV ratio is above a specified level. When you get your LTV below this level, you’ll be able to cancel your PMI, saving you some money each month. The Homeowners Protection Act dictates that lenders need to cancel someone’s PMI when their LTV gets down to 78% as long as other specified requirements are met. 

        How to Increase Your Equity

        There are several ways to increase your home equity, and some are easier than others. The easiest actually requires no work at all.

        1. Wait for Home Value to Increase

        With time, the value of homes generally rises. If your home’s appraised value goes up and your mortgage amount doesn’t change, your home equity will increase. The issue with this is that it’s a very slow process, so won’t help you if you want to increase your equity in the short term.

        2. Make Home Improvements

        Another similar way to increase home equity is to raise the value of your home through home improvements. Remodeling rooms or adding features like a garage or pool will make your home worth more.

        This will cause your home equity to go up, but it’s worth bearing in mind that it may not increase the value of your home by the same amount that you spend on the improvements.

        3. Make Extra Mortgage Payments

        You might be accustomed to making one payment a month on your mortgage, which will gradually increase your home equity. You can speed things up by making more payments each month. If you do this, you need to make sure your servicer knows that this money is for the loan principal and not interest.

        4. Refinance Your Mortgage

        You may be able to refinance your mortgage to one that has a shorter term and lower interest. If you do this, a higher percentage of each monthly payment will go towards paying off the loan rather than paying interest.

        5. Make a Large Payment on Your Principal Balance

        You can choose to pay off a large chunk of your mortgage in one lump sum. Doing so will lower your mortgage and therefore your monthly repayments while keeping the same term. This is only viable if you have a sizable sum of money that you can afford to put toward your mortgage.

        Pros and Cons of Borrowing Equity

        One of the main advantages of borrowing equity is that you can choose how to spend the money. In most cases, people do this to make home improvements, but you may have another reason, such as consolidating high-interest debts or emergency expenses. It’s worth noting that if you use funds from a HELOC for home improvements, then the interest may be tax-deductible.

        The biggest disadvantage is that you need to use your home as collateral. If you have any issues in terms of making repayments, the lender may be able to foreclose on your home.

        You also need to be aware that your home might decrease in value after you’ve borrowed. It may then be worth less than what you owe on your mortgage. This will make it more difficult to get approved for a better loan, potentially putting you in a difficult situation.

        Borrowing against your home can be very useful, but you should only borrow equity if you’re confident you can pay it back on time.

        If You Want to Sell, We Can Help

        Now that you have an understanding of how to calculate home equity, you’re probably interested in knowing how much your home is worth. You might even be considering selling if you can get a good offer.

        At iBuyers, we can give you a quick estimate and cash offer for your home. All you need to do is enter your postcode, and we’ll let you know what we can offer. Click here to use our home value estimator today.

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        Home Valuation in Minutes!

          The post How and Why to Calculate Your Home Equity appeared first on iBuyer Blog.

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