Category: Ibuyer Feed

Category Added in a WPeMatico Campaign

9 Tips on How to Sell a House Fast in a Slow Market

Inflation increased by 0.4 percent in September 2022. It is not hard to see why the market for buying a home may have slowed down. Inflation means less money to spend and it also means that people are trying to conserve. You may be wondering how to sell a house fast in a slow market.

It can be very frustrating for someone who wants to sell their home quickly. Here is how to sell your house in a slow market.

1. Know Your Home Value

One of the first things you will need to identify is the value of your home. Understanding exactly how much your home is currently worth is critical to determine what price you should sell it for. 

Wondering what your home’s worth in the current market?
Get a free online home valuation!

Get someone to survey your property and do a valuation for you. Do not just guess at the value of the home, if you do, you might end up selling yourself short. Get professional help.

2. Do the Necessary Repairs

You will also want to make sure that you do the necessary repairs to your home before putting it on the market. There’s no sense in trying to hide or get around flaws. They will come out once you put the home on the market. 

When you do repairs ahead of putting your home on the market you give yourself a chance to get the best possible price for it.

Remember, your buyers are likely to do a home inspection. During this time all the flaws in the home will be identified, so if you can fix some of them then go ahead and do so.

3. High ROI Improvements

There are some improvements to your home that yield a high return on your investment. For example, if you are thinking about renovating your kitchen then you will increase your home’s value by doing this. 

The basement is also a good area to invest in when it comes to repairs. If your home does not have a deck you can add one and this will help to increase the square footage of the property.

4. Improve Curb Appeal

Improving curb appeal is vital for selling your home. Although we have often been told not to judge a book by the cover, when it comes to selling a home, first impressions do matter. 

When people approach your property for a viewing you want to make sure that they are impressed. You can add to the curb appeal of your home by taking care of your lawn, doing landscaping work, and painting the home in an attractive color.

Even if you have to spend some money to get your home looking its best from the outside, it is well worth it, because the money will return to you, when you get your home sold quickly.

5. Consider Home Staging

Home staging is also something you should consider. Staging your home is an effective tactic for getting buyers interested. When you stage a home you create an ideal picture of the home by using furniture, artwork, and smells to make potential buyers feel as if they are at home when they enter the house.

There are professional home stagers available, but you can also do your research and learn how to stage your home yourself. Whenever you’re staging a home you will normally need to remove any kind of personal belongings. 

If necessary you can bring in rental furnishings and artwork to make the home look a particular way. This is often very effective in pulling in a buyer and getting them to commit to a purchase.

Professional Photography

You must use professional photography when listing your home. Once you have staged the home, you should take high-quality pictures of each room to place on listing sites. 

If you cannot take these pictures yourself, you should hire a professional photographer to do it for you. It will be well worth it.

6. Good Marketing

Once you’ve decided to sell your home, Marketing the property should be a priority. This means that you need to advertise on every listing site available. 

Use social media to your advantage as well. The more places you can get eyeballs on your property the higher the likelihood that it will sell very quickly.

You can put a for sale sign in front of the home with contact information. Consider using flyers as well to place on community center notice boards or wherever you will be allowed to place flyers. Try to use digital and traditional advertising formats together.

Embrace Unique Marketing 

Try to find as many unique marketing strategies as you can to sell your property. You can use short-form video content to showcase the beauty of the property. 

You can post these on Pinterest, Instagram, and YouTube. You can also add that in the video to listings wherever it is allowed.

7. Buyer Incentives

If you’re having trouble selling your home then you will need to give your buyers an incentive to buy. One way you can do this is by reducing your asking price. 

This is one of the best ways to get a house sold fast. If you have a high asking price or even an average one, calculate how much you can reasonably reduce it to without it affecting your profit margin.

Give cash back offers whenever you can. Sometimes buyers hold off on buying a home because they see that something will need a lot of repairs. Once you find out what their fears are, you can offer them some cash back so that they have enough to do a replacement or repair.

8. Pick Your Selling Method Based On Your Needs

The selling method that you choose for your home should be based on your need at any given time. Some methods of selling a home are more expensive than others. Take a closer look at the three methods you should consider.

FSBO

For sale by owner(FSBO) is a legitimate way in which you can sell your home. Many people prefer to hire a real estate agent to help them sell their homes. However, you don’t necessarily need one to do so. 

You can put the house up for sale all on your own. However, you’ll have to deal with a lot of paperwork. If this doesn’t bother you, then you should go ahead and list your house for sale and handle the transaction all by yourself.

Real Estate Agent

The most popular way to sell a home is by hiring a real estate agent. There are many perks to using this option instead of for sale by the owner. 

A real estate agent is a professional who is well-versed in what it takes to sell a house quickly. They have connections that make it easy for them to sell properties. They can help you with showcasing your property in the best way to get it sold quickly. 

A real estate agent will be able to help you with everything you need to do when selling your house. From listing it to closing, they will be there with you. 

However, it does come at a cost. If you don’t mind having to pay someone to assist you then a real estate agent is a good option for you.

iBuyers

iBuyers belong to companies that use technology to determine the value of your home. They will then make you a cash offer for the home. If you decide to go with their offer they will purchase the home from you. 

They will then market the home and resell it for a profit. The good thing about going with iBuyers is that you will get a quick cash offer and will most certainly be able to move out very quickly if that is what you want.

9. Be Realistic about Negotiations

You need to learn how to sell your house fast in a slow market through realistic negotiations.

Buyers will want to negotiate and when they come to the negotiation table they are doing so because they want a discount. When you put the home on the market and price it, you should factor in the negotiation. This is important because you will need to lower your asking price.

How to Sell Your House in a Slow Market

You now know exactly how to sell your house in a slow market. There is a lot to consider and you need to make sure that you take the time to decide exactly which method you want to use to sell a home.

The key thing you must bear in mind is that you need to make your property as attractive as possible to potential buyers. If this means that you have to improve your home or even do maintenance work on it, then go ahead and do so.

Cash Offers on your home?
You’re in the right place!

The post 9 Tips on How to Sell a House Fast in a Slow Market appeared first on iBuyer Blog.

Powered by WPeMatico

How and Why to Calculate Your Home Equity

The average home equity in the US is currently around $300,000.

Equity comes in various forms, and it can prove incredibly useful. If you know how to calculate home equity or how to calculate common equity, you can use this to put yourself in a better position financially.

With these, you can pay off high-interest loans, make large purchases, invest in home upgrades, and more. Before you can do any of these, however, you need to know what your equity is.

For a rundown of how to calculate equity value and what factors can affect it, keep reading.

Your Home Equity Is Based on Your Homes Value

Home equity varies from owner to owner because it depends on a couple of factors. The first of these is the value of your home, and the other is how much you have left to pay on your mortgage. So when you’ve got both of these, how do you calculate home equity?

How to Calculate Home Equity

Home equity is fairly easy to figure out. You just need to determine the amount you owe on your mortgage (and any other loans) for your house and subtract this from the overall value of your home.

If you owe more than the appraised value of your home, you won’t have any equity. This is known as an “underwater mortgage”. If you owe $300,000, for example, and your home has a value of $500,000, then your home equity would be $200,000.

What Is My House Worth Now?

The first step to calculating equity in your home is determining the value of the property. You’ll also want to know this if you’re considering selling your home. There are various ways to get an estimate of your home value, but mortgage lenders will want to know the professionally appraised value before giving out any loans.

To simply get an idea of how much your home is worth, you can use an online estimator. There are plenty of these available, and they use algorithms alongside other information to provide fair home market value estimates.

Wondering what your home’s worth in the current market?
Get a free online home valuation!

Bear in mind, however, that an online estimate isn’t the same as an appraised value. For an accurate home equity level, you’ll need to get a professional to appraise your home. Once you have an appraised value, you can use it alongside your loans to calculate your home equity.

Consider Your Loan to Value Ratio

After you’ve determined your home equity, you need to figure out whether it’s actually sensible to borrow from it. You can get a better idea of this by using your LTV (loan to value) ratio.

This is a percentage found by dividing your mortgage value by your appraised home value. For the example mentioned above, this would be:

$300,000/$500,000 = 0.6 (60%)

The higher an LTV is, the more risk it represents for the lender. CLTV (combined LTV) includes your mortgage as well as any other home loans you have, including the one you’re currently applying for. Most lenders generally have a CLTV limit of 85%, and won’t consider anything over this.

Types of Home Equity Loans

The amount you can borrow will depend on your home equity, your CLTV, and the lender you’re requesting a loan from. Most lenders will offer loans up to a maximum of 75%-90% of your total home equity. There are also two different types of loans that lenders will offer.

Home Equity Loan

This works in the same way as most standard loans. You’ll be able to borrow an amount, and the lender will give you this as a lump sum. You’re then expected to repay it in regular installments with interest.

This type of loan is ideal if you want to know how much you’ll need to pay back each month or if you don’t know the exact amount you need to borrow in the first place.

HELOCs

A HELOC (home equity line of credit) has a draw period (typically up to 10 years), and you can borrow multiple times during this period. There will be a set limit on how much you can borrow at a time, and once you’ve paid it off you can borrow again. You’re able to do this as many times as you like throughout the draw period.

With HELOCs, the interest rate isn’t fixed, so you need to keep track of it so that you can work out how much you need to pay back. At the end of the draw period, you can then pay the principal back over a certain period. This period is usually up to 20 years.

Cancel Your Private Mortgage Insurance

Something you can do to make the most of your home equity is canceling your PMI (private mortgage insurance). This is something that your mortgage lender might charge each month on top of your mortgage. It’s typically applied when someone pays less than 20% of the value of their home in their down payment. 

PMI is required as long as your LTV ratio is above a specified level. When you get your LTV below this level, you’ll be able to cancel your PMI, saving you some money each month. The Homeowners Protection Act dictates that lenders need to cancel someone’s PMI when their LTV gets down to 78% as long as other specified requirements are met. 

How to Increase Your Equity

There are several ways to increase your home equity, and some are easier than others. The easiest actually requires no work at all.

1. Wait for Home Value to Increase

With time, the value of homes generally rises. If your home’s appraised value goes up and your mortgage amount doesn’t change, your home equity will increase. The issue with this is that it’s a very slow process, so won’t help you if you want to increase your equity in the short term.

2. Make Home Improvements

Another similar way to increase home equity is to raise the value of your home through home improvements. Remodeling rooms or adding features like a garage or pool will make your home worth more.

This will cause your home equity to go up, but it’s worth bearing in mind that it may not increase the value of your home by the same amount that you spend on the improvements.

3. Make Extra Mortgage Payments

You might be accustomed to making one payment a month on your mortgage, which will gradually increase your home equity. You can speed things up by making more payments each month. If you do this, you need to make sure your servicer knows that this money is for the loan principal and not interest.

4. Refinance Your Mortgage

You may be able to refinance your mortgage to one that has a shorter term and lower interest. If you do this, a higher percentage of each monthly payment will go towards paying off the loan rather than paying interest.

5. Make a Large Payment on Your Principal Balance

You can choose to pay off a large chunk of your mortgage in one lump sum. Doing so will lower your mortgage and therefore your monthly repayments while keeping the same term. This is only viable if you have a sizable sum of money that you can afford to put toward your mortgage.

Pros and Cons of Borrowing Equity

One of the main advantages of borrowing equity is that you can choose how to spend the money. In most cases, people do this to make home improvements, but you may have another reason, such as consolidating high-interest debts or emergency expenses. It’s worth noting that if you use funds from a HELOC for home improvements, then the interest may be tax-deductible.

The biggest disadvantage is that you need to use your home as collateral. If you have any issues in terms of making repayments, the lender may be able to foreclose on your home.

You also need to be aware that your home might decrease in value after you’ve borrowed. It may then be worth less than what you owe on your mortgage. This will make it more difficult to get approved for a better loan, potentially putting you in a difficult situation.

Borrowing against your home can be very useful, but you should only borrow equity if you’re confident you can pay it back on time.

If You Want to Sell, We Can Help

Now that you have an understanding of how to calculate home equity, you’re probably interested in knowing how much your home is worth. You might even be considering selling if you can get a good offer.

At iBuyers, we can give you a quick estimate and cash offer for your home. All you need to do is enter your postcode, and we’ll let you know what we can offer. Click here to use our home value estimator today.

Get A Free Online
Home Valuation in Minutes!

    The post How and Why to Calculate Your Home Equity appeared first on iBuyer Blog.

    Powered by WPeMatico

    How Long Should You Live in a House Before Selling

    According to the National Association of Realtors, the national median cost for an existing home of all types is $379,100. Even as the housing market starts to cool off, the cost is still up 6.6% from October 2021. 

    These numbers prove why real estate has long been a lucrative investment and more recession-proof than stocks and bonds. Thus naturally, when you sell your home, you want to profit and make good on your investment. 

    But how long should you live in a house before selling it to realize these monetary gains? Is there a certain amount of time you should, or must, wait? While there is no magic number, there are some essential factors to consider to determine the optimal time to sell. 

    Keep reading to learn more about calculating the best time to sell your home and when to reconsider the sale. 

    Do You Want to Build Equity?

    Home equity is the current market value of your home minus any liens you have on the property, like your mortgage. It’s how much of your home you own.

    For example, if your home’s current market value is $350,000, and you still have $200,000 to pay on your mortgage, your equity is $150,000, or about 43%.

    Wondering what your home’s worth in the current market?
    Get a free online home valuation!

    The more home equity you have, the better off you are. This is because you own more assets.

    However, you can also use your equity as a financial tool. For instance, you can use it to buy additional real estate or renovate your current home. You can also use home equity to refinance high-interest debt or cover emergency expenses. 

    So to know how long to live in a house before selling it, you need to consider how much home equity you want to build. The longer you live in a home, the more equity you’ll have. 

    How Soon Can You Sell Your House?

    Technically, you can sell your home immediately after you purchase it. But you’ll end up losing money if you choose to do this. So instead of asking how soon you can sell, the better question is, “How long should you own a house before selling it?”

    Financial experts say it’s best to wait at least two years before selling. This is because of capital gains tax, which we will discuss below. 

    On the other hand, the real estate industry often says five years is the minimum time you should wait before selling. Five years is the average time it takes to recoup all the costs involved with buying a property and allow you the opportunity to profit. 

    But, if you have no reason to sell, it’s worth holding onto the property as long as possible. It will continue to increase in value.

    Homes generally appreciate an average of 3-5% each year. If you have 100% home equity, you will significantly increase your return on investment (ROI) the longer you keep the property.

    Consider this: as stated, existing home prices were up 6.6% from October 2021 to October 2022. If your home was worth $300,000 in October 2021, it would now be worth almost $320,000. With 100% home equity, you would make an extra $20,000 in net profits. 

    So while you could’ve sold your home, you also could’ve waited and realized more gains. It just depends on how flexible you are and how much equity you have. 

    Why It Might Be Worth Waiting

    The ideal situation is that you don’t lose money when you sell your home. However, breaking even is better than losing money. To help you realize net profits in selling your home, here are some reasons to reconsider selling. 

    Capital Gains Tax

    As mentioned, financial experts recommend waiting at least two years before you sell your home to avoid capital gains tax. Capital gains tax is the net profits you stand to make from selling your home. Residential real estate is a taxable asset, the same as stocks, bonds, and other assets. 

    Selling your home after one year or less of ownership means paying short-term capital gains tax. This tax rate is the same as your ordinary income tax bracket, which can be up to 37%. Yet, if you sell the home after owning it for more than one year but less than two years, you’ll pay long-term capital gains tax, which is a lower rate, typically between 0-20%. 

    However, the IRS allows homeowners to profit up to $250,000 for those filing individually and $500,000 for married couples filing jointly before paying capital gains tax. But, there are two conditions.

    First, you must have owned the property for at least two years. Second, it has to have been your primary residence for at least two out of the five years preceding the sale.

    Hence, this is why financial experts say to wait at least two years before selling to maximize net profits.

    Closing Costs

    When you buy a home, there is a long list of costs involved aside from the price of the property, including:

    • Attorney fees
    • Notary fees
    • Property taxes
    • Real estate commission 
    • Transfer taxes

    These additional expenses are the closing costs. Altogether, closing costs are usually between 1-3% of the home’s sale price but can be as high as 5-6%. You want to recoup these fees before you sell, or you won’t realize a net profit. 

    Moving Costs

    The average cost of a local move is $1,250, and the average cost for a long-distance move of around 1,000 miles is about $4,900. As with closing costs, you want to recoup the moving costs before selling your home. Even with net revenue on the home sale, you could still lose money when not considering these expenses. 

    Financing Fees

    If you have a mortgage, you need to consider financing fees. The mortgage is composed of the principal, the amount of money you borrowed, and the interest, the amount the bank charges to lend you money. 

    Building home equity can take several years because the beginning mortgage payments go toward paying the interest, not the principal loan amount. Making more mortgage payments or payments of a higher value per payment early on can help you build home equity faster. 

    But if you sell too soon, you will have less home equity and lose money on interest payments. 

    Consider Market Conditions

    The real estate market goes through ebbs and flows just like all other markets. You may not want to sell if it’s a buyer’s market. As the name suggests, a buyer’s market is favorable for buyers, not sellers. There is more real estate inventory than demand. 

    During a buyer’s market, properties tend to spend more time on the market and sell for less. Thus, if you don’t have an urgent reason to sell during a buyer’s market, it’s often best to wait until the market conditions change to receive a higher offer for your property. 

    Why You Might Want to Sell

    You may want to sell your home for several reasons, even if you haven’t owned it for that long or it’s not the best time to sell. Let’s review them here. 

    1. You Need More Space

    Sometimes family expansions aren’t planned. Whether your family is expecting a new baby or you’ll be caring for live-in relatives, like aging parents, sometimes you just need more living space.

    Maybe you’ve been given an excellent work-from-home opportunity, but you need a home office. If you need to expand your home, you may need to sell even when it’s not the most desirable time. 

    2. Money Issues

    If you’re having financial problems, you may need to consider putting up your home for sale.

    Those going through a divorce, facing job loss, or experiencing significant health problems may find they can no longer afford their home. On the other hand, if you got married or had your income increase, you may want to expand. 

    Whether for richer or for poorer, there may be significant financial reasons to sell. Crunch the numbers and see if it makes sense for your specific circumstances. 

    3. It’s a Seller’s Market

    Opposite to a buyer’s market, a seller’s market is when there’s a shortage in housing or more buyers than homes.

    The last few years have been a seller’s market. Properties were getting a record number of offers, many above the asking price. As a result, it was an excellent time for many owning a house to sell.

    It’s enticing to sell during a seller’s market to cash in on the profits. But of course, you need to deduct all previously mentioned expenses to see if you will actually profit. 

    Remember, even if you sell your home for a higher value than what you paid, you don’t make money unless you recoup all the additional costs.   

    How Long Should You Live in a House Before Selling?

    After everything we’ve discussed, you can see there is no straight answer on how long you should live in your home before selling it. However, if you can make it two years, you will avoid the most consequential aspect of selling early, capital gains tax. 

    Aside from that, you’ll need to sit down and do some calculations to decide when the right time for you to sell is. Identify how much home equity you have or want to have and establish how much net profit you want to make. The longer you wait to sell, the more you stand to gain.

    Sell Fast With an iBuyer

    So homeowner, how long should you live in a house before selling it? Now that you’ve taken in all this information, you should know what that number is for you. Maybe it’s two or five years. Perhaps it’s ten or twenty years. Everyone’s answer will be different.

    But if the time to sell is now, you can sell your home quickly using iBuyer.com. Simply use our free home value estimator to begin the process!

    Cash Offers on your home?
    You’re in the right place!

      Cash Offers From iBuyers You Can Trust!


      • No Showings

      • No Repairs

      • No Headaches

      The post How Long Should You Live in a House Before Selling appeared first on iBuyer Blog.

      Powered by WPeMatico

      Learn to Recognize a Real Estate Scam Before it Starts

      Buying or selling a home is one of the biggest investments most people will make in their lifetime. And it’s also one of the most common ways that scammers try to take advantage of people.

      They know that buying or selling a home can be stressful, so they try to add to that by scamming people out of their money.

      So arm yourself with knowledge to avoid being the victim of a real estate scam! Recognize the signs of a property investors scam before it starts, and you’ll be less likely to fall victim to these criminals.

      Read on for more details.

      What Are Real Estate Scams?

      Some people try to trick other people who are buying or selling property. They do this by lying about things like how much money the property is worth or what it will cost to fix it up.

      These people are called scammers, and they can steal a lot of money if you’re not careful. According to recent estimates, approximately 5% of all real estate transactions involve scammers in some way.

      So it’s important for both buyers and sellers to be very careful when they’re doing any kind of real estate transaction. By identifying a real scam, you protect yourself from falling victim to a scam.

      So, familiarize yourself with the following property sales warning signs.

      1. Unusual Payment Requests

      Some people may try to scam you when you buy a house. They may ask you to do things that are not normal, like wiring money to an account that you do not know about or giving them a lot of money before you sign any papers.

      When you are buying a house, only use traditional methods of payment, like a check from a bank or credit card. Do not respond to requests for cashier’s checks, money orders, or overseas wire transfers.

      2. Unrealistic Promises

      If someone is telling you that you will make a lot of money from investing in a property or that it is worth more than it seems, they might be trying to trick you.

      Always find out more information and look into any offer carefully before making a decision.

      3. Lack of Documentation

      If someone is trying to sell you a house and they cannot give you the right paperwork, be careful. This person might be trying to scam you. But how do you know if a realtor is scamming you?

      A good real estate agent will answer any questions you have and give you all the information about a property before making an offer. If you think someone is scamming you, contact the police right away.

      How to Report Real Estate Scams

      If you believe that someone has scammed you in a real estate deal, there are a few things you can do. You can contact the police and tell them what happened.

      You can also file a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission or the state Attorney General’s office. If you lost money because of the scam, you might be able to sue the person in civil court.

      Finally, tell your state’s Real Estate Commission or licensing board about what happened so they can look into it and see if any laws were broken.

      It is essential to be careful and not get caught up in a property scam when you are buying or selling a home. There are some people who try to trick others by doing things like pretending to be someone they are not.

      If you are careful and do your research, you can avoid being tricked by one of these scams.

      Types of Real Estate Scams

      Real estate scams come in many forms and can target both buyers and sellers. Common types of fraud include inflated property values, hidden fees or costs, and fraudulent contracts.

      Wondering what your home’s worth in the current market?
      Get a free online home valuation!

      Additionally, scammers may also use fake documents to mislead potential buyers or misrepresent their experience in the real estate market.

      1. Licensing Requirements

      It is important to make sure that everyone involved in a real estate transaction is qualified and licensed by the state. This helps protect buyers and sellers from fraud or misrepresentation.

      Before engaging in any real estate transaction, make sure to ask the other party for their license number and verify that it is valid with your state’s licensing board.

      2. Escrow Wire Fraud

      One of the most common real estate scams involves fraudulent requests for wire transfers. Before engaging in a real estate transaction, it’s important to understand how escrow accounts and wire transfers work.

      Also, you must ensure that any funds related to the sale are sent directly to an authorized escrow account.

      Never respond to requests for cashier’s checks, money orders, or overseas wire transfers, as they could be part of a scam.

      3. Loan Flipping

      Loan flipping is another common real estate scam, in which unscrupulous lenders target potential buyers by offering to refinance their mortgages at increasingly higher interest rates.

      This can lead to borrowers taking on more debt than they can actually afford and eventually defaulting on the loan.

      To protect yourself from this type of fraud, make sure you understand all of the terms and conditions of any loan offer before signing on the dotted line.

      4. Foreclosure Relief

      Another type of real estate scam involves individuals or companies that offer foreclosure relief services. These services may promise to help homeowners avoid foreclosure by renegotiating the terms of their loans with lenders.

      But often they are simply a way for scammers to collect hefty upfront fees without actually providing any assistance.

      To protect yourself from this type of fraud, make sure to research any company offering foreclosure relief services before signing on with them.

      Additionally, never give out your personal information or agree to send money without first verifying their credentials and researching the organization’s reputation with the Better Business Bureau.

      5. Fake Rentals

      Another type of real estate scam involves individuals posing as landlords or property owners in order to collect rental deposits and other fees without actually renting out the property.

      To avoid falling victim to this type of fraud, make sure you thoroughly research any potential landlord and verify their identity before sending money or signing a lease agreement.

      Additionally, be wary of listings that require payments made by wire transfer or cashier’s check as these are often warning signs that the listing is not legitimate.

      6. We Buy Homes

      We buy homes scams involve individuals or companies that make unsolicited offers to purchase a property at an inflated price. This can be attractive to homeowners looking for a quick sale. 

      But the offer is often too good to be true and may eventually result in homeowners losing their money without actually selling their homes.

      To protect yourself from this type of fraud, make sure you thoroughly research any company making such an offer and verify their credentials with the Better Business Bureau.

      Additionally, it’s important to obtain multiple appraisals before agreeing to any sale, so that you have an accurate idea of your property’s fair market value.

      7. Forged Deeds

      Forged deed scams involve individuals or companies that claim to own the property in question, but do not actually have a legal right to sell it. You need to be careful with this.

      To protect yourself from this type of real estate fraud, make sure you always verify who owns the title to any property before purchasing it.

      Additionally, be wary of any offers that require payments made in cash or via wire transfer, as these are often signs that something is amiss.

      8. Unsolicited Off-Market Sales

      Unsolicited off-market sales involve individuals or companies that attempt to sell properties directly to buyers without ever listing the properties on the open market.

      This can be attractive for buyers looking for a great deal, but it often results in them being taken advantage of by unscrupulous sellers who are looking to make a quick profit.

      To protect yourself from this type of fraud, make sure you always research any potential property purchase and verify its ownership with the local land records office before making an offer.

      Additionally, be wary of any offers made via email or phone that don’t include a physical address as these may be signs of a scam.

      What To Do If I Suspect Being Scammed?

      If you believe that you have been the victim of a real estate scam, it is important to contact your local law enforcement authorities. Additionally, you should file a complaint with the FTC.

      The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) can be found at ftc.gov/complaint. The FTC provides resources and tips for fraud prevention as well as ways to report any type of fraud or scams.

      Furthermore, if you are concerned about identity theft, visit identitytheft.gov to learn more about protecting yourself from this type of crime.

      Find a Buyer You Can Trust

      Finally, it’s important to do your research and make sure you find a reputable buyer or agent to work with when making real estate transactions. Ask friends and family for referrals.

      Also, check online reviews and verify credentials before signing on the dotted line. Doing so will help ensure that you are working with someone you can trust and that you won’t become a victim of real estate fraud.

      iBuyer.com helps you to find a buyer that will not scam you; if you’re looking for a quick sale contact us now.

      Cash Offers From
      iBuyers You Can Trust!


        • No Showings

        • No Repairs

        • No Headaches

        The post Learn to Recognize a Real Estate Scam Before it Starts appeared first on iBuyer Blog.

        Powered by WPeMatico

        How Much Are Closing Costs for the Seller?

        recent study showed the average closing costs on real estate transactions in 2021 were $6,837 including taxes, that’s a 12% increase from the year before.

        In most cases, sellers pay the bulk of these expenses from the proceeds they receive from the sale, but the buyer must pay out of their pocket. Costs vary depending on location, with D.C. leading the way, and Delaware and New York following close behind.

        How much is the closing cost for the seller in your area? It depends on your circumstances.

        Keep reading to find out what you need to know about closing costs for the seller.

        What Are Closing Costs on a Home?

        Closing costs are fees that buyers or sellers must settle to transfer ownership of a property.

        Local real estate laws and regulations have a major impact on which fees you’ll pay to sell your home and how much these amount to. Some states even have different terminology for closing costs.

        In some cases, the seller may agree to pay some of the buyer’s closing costs to facilitate the sale. These are the fees associated with closing when you’re selling a home:

        Deed Transfer Tax

        Also known as real estate transfer tax, or simply transfer tax, your state or local government levies this tax. Estate tax and inheritance tax are a type of deed transfer tax, too. Estate tax and inheritance tax are a type of deed transfer tax, too.

        This amount covers the cost of changing the deed information to that of the new owner. The amount you pay depends on the value of the property.

        Recording Fee

        This is another fee that varies depending on the location of the property. It covers the cost of recording and filing the mortgage and deed information in the public record.

        Some states combine the recording fee and transfer fee into a single payment, although the recording fee is usually a set amount per page rather than a percentage of the home’s value.

        It’s in the buyer’s best interest to ensure this process takes place, as many lenders won’t finalize a mortgage without it, but buyers and sellers frequently split the costs. 

        Title Search Fees

        property title search will reveal if there are any liens or ownership claims on a property. Buyers and sellers typically split the costs of a title search.

        If the title search reveals a lien on the property, the seller must pay it before the deed transfer proceeds. In some cases, the buyer might opt to pay this amount to secure the sale.

        Real Estate Commissions

        Real estate agents usually receive their cut of the sale once the deal closes. The seller pays both the real estate agents and brokerages involved in the sale.

        In most cases, this amounts to about 5% or 6% of the sale value, split between the two agents. Real estate agents’ fees cover the costs of marketing the property and guiding both buyer and seller through the sale process.

        Attorney’s Fees

        Although it’s not a legal requirement in some states, hiring an attorney can help streamline the home-buying process. They assist with most of the paperwork required for the sale, attend the closing process, and help resolve disputes.

        In some cases, an escrow or a title insurance representative can oversee the closing procedure.

        If you decide to hire any of these professionals, you pay for their services.

        Mortgage Payments

        Sellers must pay the outstanding balance on their mortgage when they sell their home. Plus, you may need to pay penalties for settling this amount early.

        According to the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, your lender must include this information in your mortgage contract. So, check this document while calculating your closing costs.

        If you pay off your mortgage before the end of your agreement, you may pay penalties based on how much you still owe according to this agreement. This may amount to a few months’ interest payments or around 3% of the outstanding amount.

        When Are Closing Costs Due?

        Buyers must settle their closing costs when the home changes hands, which is a date indicated on the sale agreement, called the ”closing date”.

        Sellers usually pay these costs out of the proceeds from the sale of their home, unless their closing costs amount to more than the amount they’re selling their home for.

        Buyers must arrive with a cashier’s check, a certified check, or cash to settle the closing costs.

        This process is often called ‘settlement’ and the money paid in this process is ”cash to close”. Cash to close usually includes the sum of everything the buyer needs to pay, minus any credits provided by the seller. 

        The buyer’s lender usually informs them about this amount in the closing disclosure

        Who Pays Closing Costs?

        All closing costs are negotiable between the buyer and the seller, and both may agree to pay more than they should, depending on how much they want to conclude the sale.

        In most cases, each party is responsible for certain costs. 

        What Are the Closing Costs for the Buyer?

        The buyer pays most of the costs associated with a home sale, and they usually need to pay these costs upfront. In some cases, they can include these costs in their mortgage, but this service usually comes with exorbitant interest rates.

        If the buyer can’t afford to pay some of the closing costs, they can ask the seller to split the costs with them.

        In most cases, the seller is responsible for the following closing costs:

        • Title Search
        • Title insurance
        • Loan application fees
        • Loan origination fee
        • Home inspection costs
        • Home appraisal fees
        • Property surveying fees if necessary
        • HOA fees if applicable

        What Are the Closing Costs for the Seller?

        Unless they agree to pay some of the buyer’s closing costs, the seller is responsible for the following:

        • Mortgage settlement
        • Mortgage penalties
        • Existing liens
        • Real estate agents commission
        • Prorated property taxes

        Although the seller doesn’t pay as many closing costs as the buyer, their overall contribution is usually more and can amount to as much as 10% of the home’s sale price, excluding any outstanding mortgage payments. 

        Should I Pay The Buyer’s Closing Costs?

        While it might seem like a waste of money to pay the buyer’s closing costs, this practice has a few benefits for sellers. These are:

        Increases the Pool of Buyers for Your Home

        High closing costs can put buyers off, especially if they don’t have the money to pay these costs in cash along with their deposit.

        In these cases, they’ll need to include the closing costs in their mortgage. If they don’t qualify for this extra finance, they might withdraw their offer.

        Usually Means a Faster Sale

        It can take longer to sell your home if you refuse to pay the buyer’s closing costs.

        Most interested buyers will request that the seller pays some of the closing costs. If the seller doesn’t agree, they’ll keep shopping around until they find a home they can afford. 

        Insisting the seller pays closing costs means they’ll need to approach their lender for a larger mortgage, which delays the approval process.

        Reducing Closing Costs for the Seller

        As a seller, the easiest way to reduce closing costs is to refuse to pay any of the buyer’s closing costs or increase your home sale price to include closing costs. You can also ask the buyer to pay some of your costs.

        These tactics only succeed in a strong seller’s market. 

        Another area where you can save money is on realtors’ commissions. Try negotiating with your real estate agent for a reduced fee, or sell your home yourself. 

        While selling your home on your own isn’t a task for the faint-hearted, it’s a lot cheaper than working with a real estate agent. Finally, you could consider selling your home to a cash buyer. 

        In most cases, cash investors don’t need to wait for mortgage approvals or a home inspection, so you’ll enjoy a much faster sale, too.

        Selling your home for cash means you don’t have to pay the real estate agent’s commissions. Depending on your circumstances, a cash investor may offer to pay some of the closing costs to speed up the sale, too.

        Selling Without the Hassle of Closing Costs

        Selling to a cash buyer is an obvious way to save on closing costs for the seller. Plus, you’ll enjoy a faster sale.

        There are risks associated with selling your home this way, though. Some of these companies offer rock-bottom prices and employ high-pressure tactics to the detriment of the seller.

        With iBuyer.com, you don’t need to worry about these issues. We can provide you with a market-related valuation of your home in minutes and connect you with a reputable, qualified cash buyer if you’re interested.

        Simply enter your address on our home page, and you’ll receive a fair offer for your consideration.

        Cash Offers on your home?
        You’re in the right place!

        The post How Much Are Closing Costs for the Seller? appeared first on iBuyer Blog.

        Powered by WPeMatico